Cleaning out the Pantry

My pantry is a mess.  My refrigerator is a mess.  I don’t even know what’s in there anymore. Yesterday I found a mushy shallot. It’s gross. So I have declared this week, the week of pantry cleaning. What this means is no grocery list – no recipes. Just fly by the seat of my pants. Most of my meals will probably consist of pasta and some leftover vegetables/cheese thrown in. Nothing fancy. By doing this, I’m hoping to create an organized way of keeping food. No more toss it in the closet and 2 months later discover my potatoes are covered in roots. No more expired salad dressing. I want to know what I have and when I need to use it.

Another goal for the next week or two will be organizing dry foods. I’m going to be scouring second hand stores to find an acceptable system for organizing all the flour, sugar, salt, spices, etc. I’ve got some mason jars lying around so that might be the first step.

As always, I’ll keep you updated on my adventure.

And just to give you a little pretty goodness – check out these photos from some blogs that participated in the ‘Week of Eating In’:

Beef Cheek Confit with caramelized baby turnips and garlic scapes – Via No Recipes

Beef and Broccoli Rabe – Via Goldilocks finds Manhattan

Sweet Heat Red Beans – Via The Eaten Path

Leave a Reply

