Grocery Shopping: Week One

My Shopping List

Tonight was my first shopping trip where I actually stuck with a list and didn’t veer into the frozen meal section.  Things went surprisingly according to plan.  Some of my items were a little unique (scary) and I wasn’t sure if Bi-Lo’s inventory would hold up.  Luckily, outside of one item, I was able to complete my list.  One of the things I learned tonight at the grocery store, neither the cashier or I know what anise looks like.  By the time I got up to the checkout it was a challenge to identify the different between the leeks, fennel bulb, and parsley.  Lots of greens! See if you can identify the veggie.

Unfortunately, one item didn’t make it into my cart. The elusive fresh dill.  Nowhere to be found. I’m hoping this doesn’t affect my Potato, Leek, and Feta Tart too much.

Fresh Dill – Get on it Bi-Lo!

One of the best things about my grocery list, is I won’t be using everything this week.  I’m going to have leftover potatoes, leftover honey, extra tomatoes, etc.  I’ll be able to use this list in the following weeks to form upcoming meal plans.

Grocery Success!

Receipt Breakdown:

  • Spices – Sesame Seeds: $0.69
  • Honey – $3.43
  • Ravioli – $3.69
  • Capers – $2.99
  • Feta Chesse – $2.89
  • Pie Shells – $2.57
  • Salmon Fillets – $8.07
  • Spinach Bunch – $1.99
  • Anise – $2.99
  • Red Bell Pepper – $1.99
  • Parsley – $0.99
  • 5lb Red Potato – $3.99
  • Grape Tomatoes – $3.29
  • 2 Zucchinis – $1.44
  • Ginger Root – $0.50
  • Leeks – $0.66
  • Shallots – $0.54
  • Total – $42.34

Lots of Pretty Greens

Based on the idea of 4 meals replacing going out to eat 4 times, I think it’s safe to say I’m already saving money.  It would be a challenge to fit 4 meals out to eat under $40.  This is just the beginning, but I’m pretty excited! Up tomorrow, Cheese Ravioli with Grape Tomatoes and Wine.

Leave a Reply

