Cheese Ravioli with Grape Tomatoes and Wine

To refresh your memory, here was tonight’s recipe:

Cheese Ravioli with Grape Tomatoes and Wine
In a large skillet, cook 2 chopped shallots in olive oil over medium heat until tender, 3 to 5 minutes. Add 1 pint halved grape tomatoes and 1 cup white wine; season with salt and pepper. Cook until the tomatoes begin to soften, 4 to 5 minutes. Mix in the ravioli, 2 tablespoons butter, and 1/4 cup chopped parsley.

Here’s a shot of all the ingredients in the recipe:

I wanted to start the week off simple and this recipe was definitely easy to follow.  I only made one mistake while prepping.  If you look at the picture and compare the ingredients, you can see of item does not belong, and one is missing.  Yes, I confused the leek and the shallot.  This mistake almost cost me until I Googled, “How to chop a shallot” and noticed it did not appear to have any green in it.  Close one.  Outside of my faux paus, everything else went according to plan.

I chopped the parsley and shallot while the ravioli began to boil.


I also began sauteing the shallots with olive oil.


After the shallots were tender, I added the tomatoes, and then eventually, the ravioli.

At this point it began to look like I had a real dish on my hands.

The parsley, white wine and butter rounded out the meal.

All in all, I was pretty impressed.  This was a simple meal that introduced me to some new products.  One thing I would change for next time would be my choice of ravioli.  I chose parmeasan cheese ravioli.  Next time I’d go with a softer, creamier cheese so the pasta wouldn’t taste as dry. Otherwise, all was good!

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

