Grocery Shopping: Week Two

This week my grocery list was much shorter.  Moving one meal from last week over eliminated a lot of necessary ingredients.  I still had a few issues with the ingredients.  Apparently, green beans are not available right now due to freezes in Florida.  So I improvised and instead of greens with butter and almonds, I’ll be making grilled asparagus with Parmesan cheese with my salmon dish.

The only other set back this week were my proteins.  I couldn’t find the exact salmon or steak, so I changed it up a little.  Instead of fresh salmon, I grabbed a couple frozen fillets … which was actually on sale and very cheap!  And for the steak, the recipe recommended a flat iron or top round and the best I could manage was a sirloin.  Honestly, I very rarely buy meat at the grocery, so this was a new territory for me.  I think my substitutions will be just fine.

Receipt Breakdown:

  • Asparagus – $1.03
  • White Wine Vinegar – $3.89
  • Parmesan Cheese – $2.99
  • Blue Cheese – $3.09
  • Salmon Twin Pack Fillets – $1.99
  • Lemon – $0.69
  • Celery – $1.79
  • Sirloin Steak – $5.09
  • Total – $20.56!!!

Granted, I already had a lot of ingredients, but I’m still very excited about the success of the trip!

One response to “Grocery Shopping: Week Two

  1. yum Carly, cook for me!

Leave a Reply

