Roast Salmon and Pepper with Caper Vinaigrette


Roast Salmon and Pepper with Caper Vinaigrette

  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 2 small red bell peppers, quartered
  • 1 fennel bulb, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 1-1/4 poind piece skinless salmon fillet
  • 1/4 cup fresh flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon capers, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • Heat oven to 400degrees. Cook the rice according to the package directions.
  • Meanwhile, in a large roasting pan, toss the bell peppers, fennel, 1 tablespoon of the oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.  Roast for 5 minutes.  Season the salmon with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper and nestle in among the vegetables.  Roast until the salmon is opaque throughout and the vegetables are just tender, 14 to 16 minutes.
  • In a small bowl, combine the parsley, capers, vinegar, and the remaining tablespoon of oil. Drizzle over the salmon and rice.

_________________________________________

This recipe was another that was fairly easy to follow.  The only things that slowed me down were, “How do I slice a fennel bulb?” And “What am I preheating the over to 400degrees if I’m cooking to salmon stovetop?” Outside of that everything was simple to prepare.

I used frozen salmon fillets for this recipe because they were on sale. That’s something I probably won’t do again. The salmon still tasted fine, but without sounding like a food snob, I could taste the difference. Outside of the capers and fennel bulb, I’ve used all of the other ingredients for another recipe or I had stocked up in my pantry.  It was a cheap dish that truly went the extra mile.

Nestling the salmon in the veggies

Another step in the directions I found odd was to cook the salmon stovetop for 14-16 minutes.  I know that the recipe call for more salmon than I was making, but all I needed was 5-7 minutes top to finish the fish.

Next time I make this dish, I’ll probably lay off a little on the red wine vinegar.  The capers, salt, and vinegar were a little strong for my taste buds.  But overall, you can’t go wrong with salmon and rice!

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

