Steak with Potato Salad and Blue Cheese Vinaigrette

Last night’s recipe:


Steak with Potato Salad and Blue Cheese Vinaigrette

  • 1 pound red potatoes (about 12)
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 small steaks (such as  Newport, flat iron or top round; 1 1/2 pounds total)
  • 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese (about 1 ounce)
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 small head Boston lettuce, torn (about 4 cups)

Place the potatoes in a large pot and add enough cold water to cover.  Bring to a boil and add 2 teaspoons salt.  Reduce heat and simmer until tender, 14 to 16 minutes.  Drain, run under cold water to cool, and using a fork or your fingers, break the potatoes in half.

Meanwhile, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Season the steaks with 1 teaspoon salt and 3/4 teaspoon pepper and cook to the desired doneness, 4 to 5 minutes per side for medium-rare.

In a large bowl, combine the blue cheese, vinegar, the remaining 1/4 of oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.  Add the lettuce and potatoes and toss to coat.  Serve with the steaks.

______________________________

Due to salmon being frozen and me being hungry, steak and potatoes got pushed up to last night. And it was all I ever dreamed it would be.  Red meat and potatoes … NOM NOM NOM!

Again, the recipe is easy to follow.  Boil potatoes, cook steak, mix vinaigrette. Nothing too complicated.  I will note though, that I used a sirloin steak instead of a flat iron. Based on availability and budget, this is what I ended up working with.  I don’t know if there would be a difference, but it still tasted great to me.

All the ingredients

Easy, right? :)

Before you start judging me on serving size, I’d like to point out, I only ate half of the steak, one potato and half of the salad. The rest was lunch at work today. Who knew I’d be having delicious steak at work 2 weeks ago? Not me. But I’m happy about it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

