Paprika Spiced Pork Chops with Spinach Saute

Paprika Spiced Pork Chops with Spinach Saute

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 bone-in pork rib chops (about 1 inch thick; 2 pounds total)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1 10-ounce package spinach (about 16 loosely packed cups)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  1. Heat oven to 400° F. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Season the pork with the paprika, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper and cook until browned, 2 to 3 minutes per side.
  2. Transfer the pork to a baking sheet and roast in oven until cooked through, 10 to 12 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, return the skillet to medium heat, add the scallions and raisins, and cook, stirring, for 30 seconds. Add the spinach and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper and cook, tossing, until just wilted, 1 to 2 minutes; stir in the lemon juice. Serve with the pork.

____________________________________________

When I went to the grocery this week, there was a serious price similarity between 1 pound of pork chops and 5 pounds of pork chops. Both were going for about the $6 mark! So now I’ve got a ton of pork on my hands. Problem is, I’ve very rarely cooked pork. This is an unknown territory for me. Expect a lot of my meals next week to include pork.

Honestly, Tuesday night’s meal wasn’t my favorite. I enjoyed the pork chops, but something was off with the spinach. Buying frozen spinach was probably my mistake. The whole taste was just off. If I were to make this meal again, I’d either go for fresh spinach, or nix the whole side dish and try something new.

Not having had cooked pork before, I’m learning the whole searing technique. I failed Tuesday night. Pan wasn’t hot enough, so the meat never got to the crispy level I wanted.

You can see, something about that spinach just doesn’t look right.

I won’t say the whole meal was a bust, I was able to eat it and enjoy parts. But it makes me want to stick with familiarity, aka salmon. Too bad I’ve got a whole freezer full of pork chops…

Bon appetit…?

Leave a Reply

