Roasted Salmon with Spicy Cauliflower

Roasted Salmon with Spicy Cauliflower

  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 head cauliflower (about 2 pounds), cored and cut into large florets
  • 4 skinless salmon fillets (6 to 8 ounces each)
  • 4 thin lemon slices, halved, plus 4 wedges, for serving
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Gather garlic, anchovies (if using), and red-pepper flakes into a pile. Using a chefs knife, coarsely chop; season generously with salt. Using flat side of knife blade, mash mixture into a paste.
  2. Place paste into a large bowl; add oils, and mix to combine. Add cauliflower, and toss to coat. Spread mixture in a single layer on a large rimmed baking sheet. Roast until starting to soften, about 15 minutes.
  3. Season salmon with salt and pepper. Remove baking sheet from oven; push cauliflower to sides, and place fillets in the center. Arrange two half-slices of lemon on each fillet. Return to oven; bake until fish is opaque throughout, 10 to 15 minutes. Serve with lemon wedges.

__________________________________

Yikes! Apologies for being such a bad blogger this week.  I’ve been a little under the weather and the last thing I’ve wanted to do after cooking these meals was to write about them.

My meals were a little shuffled around this week due to other obligations getting in the way, but by the end I’ve the week, they will all have been cooked. Just on the wrong nights. No biggie.

So going back in time, Monday’s meal was Roasted Salmon with Spicy Cauliflower.  This week I chose all the meals based on everything being simple and healthy. Most of the dishes contain one protein and a vegetable. Monday’s meal was no different. It was really, really easy to make and I loved the cauliflower! I bought a whole head of cauliflower, so I think this side dish will be making its way into some of my meals next week. Easy and tasty – my favorite!

All I had to do was season the cauliflower with the garlic, red pepper flakes and olive oil (I opted not to use the anchovies – not my style) and bake it for about 15 minutes.  At that point, I threw in the salmon and ‘nestled’ it among the cauliflower.

“Nestling” the Salmon

I baked the salmon for about 10 more minutes, and voila! A simple easy one-pot meal.

I’ve grown to really enjoy cooking salmon. It’s quick, it’s easy and it’s simple for me to see when it’s done. Some other meats I struggle with knowing if they’re cooked fully, but I can always tell with the salmon. It doesn’t hurt that it only takes a few minutes!

Bon appetit!

(I actually threw some baby potatoes from my roommates leftover’s into my meal! Yummy!)

Leave a Reply

