Shrimp with Snow Peas and Oranges

Seared Scallops Shrimp with Snow Peas and Oranges

  • 1 cup couscous
  • 2 teaspoons plus 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 16 sea scallops (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • Fresh Shrimp
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 orange
  • 3/4 pound snow peas, halved lengthwise
  1. Cook the couscous according to the package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, heat 2 teaspoons of the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Pat the scallops dry, season with ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper, and cook until opaque throughout and golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate and cover to keep warm; wipe out the skillet.
  3. Using a vegetable peeler, remove 4 strips of zest from the orange; thinly slice the zest.
  4. Heat the remaining tablespoon of oil in the skillet over medium-high heat. Add the snow peas, orange zest, and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper and cook, tossing, until the snow peas are just tender, about 2 minutes. Serve with the scallops and couscous.
____________________________________________
Another night of mixing it up! Thursday night I transformed my Seared Scallops with Snow Peas and Oranges recipe into Shrimp with Snow Peas and Oranges. Big jump, right?
Basically I’ve learned that if I want fresh seafood, I need to get to the grocery store before 8PM on a Sunday. No one is ever at the seafood counter and I become a baby and don’t ask for help.  So I bought so pre-wrapped shrimp to substitute for this recipe.  Can’t say I’m upset about it at all, the little  shrimpies were great!
Easy list of ingredients! – I like it!
Last night was the first time I attempted to cook couscous. I really thought it was going to be difficult! I’ve never enjoyed cooking rice (unless it’s in the microwave) and I thought it would be hard to get the right consistency. I couldn’t be more wrong! It was super easy to whip up a batch! Thank goodness, because it’s on the menu tonight. :)
Fluff, fluff, fluff!
The only negative thing about the shrimp, was all the POOP! Those little fellas needed some serious de-veining. Not fun at all. But I guess that’s what you go through for yummy little shrimps!
Poop-free camarónes!
The sugar snap peas and orange vest were an excellent side item. The peas really did soak up the orange flavor.  I ended up microwaving the peas for a little bit before throwing them into the pan (they were frozen) but I still think they turned out great.
Overall, it was a great meal. I’m glad I made the choice with shrimp instead of throwing out the whole recipe. I really think I’ll start using shrimp in recipes more often.  I can’t wait until the Farmer’s Market gets started back up in Charleston, then I’ll be able to get some super-fresh seafood! Yay! :)
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

