Seared Salmon with Oranges and Fennel

Seared Salmon with Oranges and Fennel

  • 2 navel oranges, peeled, and segmented, plus 2 tablespoons fresh orange juice
  • 1 small fennel bulb (stalks removed), halved lengthwise, cored, and thinly sliced crosswise, fronds reserved for garnish (optional)
  • 1/4 cup pitted green olives, halved
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 4 skinless salmon fillets (6 ounces each)
  1. In a medium bowl, combine orange segments and juice, fennel, olives, lemon juice, and 1 teaspoon oil; season with salt and pepper, and toss gently. Set aside.
  2. In a large nonstick skillet, heat remaining teaspoon oil over medium. Add salmon, flat side down; cook until browned, about 3 minutes. Turn salmon; cook until opaque throughout, 1 to 3 minutes more. Serve salmon topped with orange mixture; garnish with fennel fronds, if desired.

_______________________________

Are there any foods out there that you just keep trying to convince yourself that you enjoy? Like you just keep trying and trying, but you aren’t sure if you love or hate the food?  Well, that’s how I feel about fennel. Little ole fennel. I really can’t decided whether I love or hate. I always clear my plate when it’s an ingredient, but I can’t tell if I enjoy it. Weird, right?

Anyways, this was a quick quick easy meal.  Outside of the salmon, there was no actually ‘cooking’ just assembling.

Mixing the oranges, fennel, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper..

Meanwhile … I made a couple rookie mistakes on my salmon. I used a non non-stick pan, and undercooked it.  Oh well, still tasted okay.

See that little burn? Woops…

Overall, this meal was okay. It really wasn’t enough to fill me up.  Maybe that’s a good thing, but I’ll tell you I was craving something else all night!

Leave a Reply

