Just how bad is High Fructose Corn Syrup?

Obviously my grocery shopping and cooking has picked up during this Lent challenge.  But what I didn’t expect was this challenge was going to increase my awareness on healthy foods in general.  Whenever I do go grocery shopping, I think I do a fairly good job.  I try and stay on the outsides of the store as much as possible (produce and dairy).  When I do venture in the middle it’s normally for breakfast bars, some frozen foods (I’m a lover of the Healthy Choice meals) and when I’m treating myself, some chips. – I have a serious salty tooth.

But recently I’ve been paying more attention to foods that contain high fructose corn syrup.  I’m hoping at this point that most people know the dangers of the ingredient, but here’s an excerpt from a recent study:

______________

From Princeton University: “A Princeton University research team has demonstrated that all sweeteners are not equal when it comes to weight gain: Rats with access to high-fructose corn syrup gained significantly more weight than those with access to table sugar, even when their overall caloric intake was the same.

In addition to causing significant weight gain in lab animals, long-term consumption of high-fructose corn syrup also led to abnormal increases in body fat, especially in the abdomen, and a rise in circulating blood fats called triglycerides. The researchers say the work sheds light on the factors contributing to obesity trends in the United States.”

______________

If you’re looking for a more in-depth look at just how high fructose corn syrup affects your body, watch the video below.  Warning – it’s a long one.

______________

I spent some time at the grocery this week to check my normal purchases to find out if they did contain high fructose corn syrup.  I think I was lucky, but still suprised. Here are some normal purchases I’ll be cutting out of my grocery list and their replacements:

Sara Lee Classic 100% Whole Wheat

Replaced by any of the Nature’s Own Products

________________________________

Nutri-Grain Cereal Bars

Replaced by Full Circle Cereal Bars

________________________________

Yoplait Light Yogurt

Replaced by Stonyfield Yogurt

________________________________

I don’t think I eat enough products with high fructose corn syrup for it to be a serious problem, but I feel more comfortable just cutting it out altogether. Most of these news products taste just as good if not better than their unhealthy counterparts. No problem at all! :)

Leave a Reply

